dichroic glass having flecks come off in firing

Post here with questions and topics relating to making glass jewelry.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

mbmccann

dichroic glass having flecks come off in firing

Post by mbmccann »

I have been firing dichro for several years both capped with clear and uncapped. This week I fired a gold marbles patterned dichro uncapped and some of the gold came off. The flecks got on other pieces nearby. Then I tried the same glass with clear over it and you can kind of see the flecks under the clear. OF course this did stop it from contaminating other jewelry close to it.
Does anyone know about this? Is there a temperature thing that would cure it? I fire to 1450 for my full fuse.
seachange

Re: dichroic glass having flecks come off in firing

Post by seachange »

Hi,

I have had exact same thing happening with rainbow two. Long time ago, found out from this board that it is sometimes prone to do this.

Occasionally some of the Profusion patterns silver on black "spit" bits of silver, enough to be annoying. I tend to use a rectangular piece of kilnshelf on its side, as a wall separating these pieces from others in the same firing, to try and avoid ruining the rest.

Lately had a 1/4 disk of stripes, green/magenta blue doing the same. I had to use it uncapped for my work, it was impossible. As you have noticed, even under a clear cap the dichroic looks flecky, instead of being smooth and even. The dichroic is just waste.

Contacted CBS, posted samples of the fired and unfired pieces, they replaced it.