What impresses you?

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Mira

What impresses you?

Post by Mira »

I am new to art glass - and this site. I have seen a few posts that refer to poor quality glass and design. I was wondering, as a newbie, if any of you might share your thoughts with me on what you look for in a quality project. In other words, when you walk into a new gallery and look at a piece you've never seen before, what characteristics are met before you say, "Wow, I'm impressed." I'm wondering what experienced artists look for.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!! :D
DonMcClennen

What impresses me

Post by DonMcClennen »

In short "Concept" and "Execution"
Don
"The Glassman"
Brock

Re: What impresses me

Post by Brock »

Don McClennen wrote:In short "Concept" and "Execution"
Don
Okay, if "Concept" equals design sense, content, emotional impact, the ability to provoke and initiate a response, the "WOW" factor, and just the sheer beauty of the piece, and "Execution" means technical ability, problem solving, and what? . . . finesse? . . . the ability to SEE the piece prior to it's existence, then I totally agree. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

Content, and technical skill...Content is where most of us could use some help...myself included.

I remember seeing a cool miniature icecream shop with orange slices as stool seats and fabulous countertops and booths...all kiln formed or flame worked, all glass, and although the content was a bit too cute for my taste, the whole package was divine and well executed.