Pot Melting tips required!

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

EmmaPicton

Pot Melting tips required!

Post by EmmaPicton »

I have recently purchased an old ceramics kiln which I would like to use for Pot Melts. I am quite new to Kiln Glass and so far have had some good and some not so good results from it. The kiln appears to be extremely well insulated and cools very, very slowly. I have had some results from the kiln that have suffered from de-vit, and the results have also tended to stay quite thick and not spread as much as I would have liked.

If anybody has any pot melt tips they can give I would be most appreciative.

Thanks everyone.
PaulS

Post by PaulS »

What kind of glass are you using Emma?

I use a small ceramic kiln for potmelts. See here how I set it up;

http://www.artemisglass.co.uk/studio5/s ... index.html

It's better to cool something very, very slowly that is going to last 2000 years. An extra hour or two is nothing. :)

Paul
It ain't where you're from, it's where you're at!
EmmaPicton

Post by EmmaPicton »

Hi

Thanks for replying, this is the first time I've used this forum and was convinced no one would respond!

The glass I've been using is the artista fusing range by desag and my kiln is quite a large front loader. Regarding the cooling time, I had thought the devit was due to being too high for too long, would it be worth opening the kiln to crash cool to the anneal point and then slowly over night to room temp?

Thanks

Emma
quill

Post by quill »

HI Paul,

Great pictures on your website.

Can you tell me what type of metal wire you use to suspend your pot in the kiln?

Thanks!
PaulS

Post by PaulS »

EmmaPicton wrote:Hi

Thanks for replying, this is the first time I've used this forum and was convinced no one would respond!