old fuser new to dichro has question

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Candy Kahn

Post by Candy Kahn »

Hi all - I've been fusing for a few years but have not used dichroic glass. I have a project where I will use dichro. My question is whether I should cap the dichro with thin clear? What happens if it is not capped vs when capped. I am planning on using CBS thin black dichro. Another question re black vs clear dichro - pros and cons?

Feel silly having to ask these questions but I have 0 experience with this glass and don't have a lot of time to experiment.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

candy
Steve_K

Dichro

Post by Steve_K »

This is coming from a newbie in general, but I have been playing around alot with CBS dichro, both clear and black. Here are some things I have noticed: With Black based, you will get the most reflected light from the dichro making it stand out alot more-the clear will allow whats underneath to show through (and change its color--my preference in most cases). If you do not put a clear cap on top, then it can get pretty nasty as a surface, cracking up and that sort of thing...just my personal experience. Now, with the single surface coated kind, you can fire with that side down and it will have that clear capped appearance. Oh and one other thing I've noticed...if you dont totally cover the dichro with a clear, some of it may brake off and float away, leaving unexpected shards here and there. I know there are probably great ways to control it, but this is my initial observations from using it for about a month (I got a few mixed sample packs to start with.)
Mimi Rivera Vellek

Post by Mimi Rivera Vellek »