firing leaves and green staff

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Havi

firing leaves and green staff

Post by Havi »

Hi everybody
I am new to this very exciting forum. I am an Israeli glass fusist if you may say so, in love with the medium but still got a lot to learn. Basically I enjoy fusing for abstract scupltures, vertical pieces, about 1 cm thick (about half an ") I have been reading this forum and am learning a lot just from the discussions, answers and questions. however, aside from my main interest, I am trying now to learn few more techniques like fusing 2 sheets of glass with tree leaves between them. I understood from the book (warm glass) that the leaf should have been completely burnt, and the glass would have shown only clear traces of the leaf's shape. What I got is : fused glass, black leaf, and an air bulb around it. At the edges of the leaf there are some marks as if the leaf was a bit longer. Can anybody tell me how should it look, and what did I do wrong? I fired at 820 centigrade more than 1600 f
Thanks,
havi
:?: :?
Haviva Z
- - - - with a smile :)

"Speed comes from the Devil" - (an Arabic proverb)
http://www.havivaz.com
Brock

Post by Brock »

You're always going to get bubbles, unless you allow the air between the sheets of glass to escape. Try again with some small compatible chips around the edge of the bottom piece, put your vegetation in the middle, then the top sheet. BTW, the results are usually more impressive with the more fibrous plant matter. Stems, roots, woody plants leave more of an image than leaves. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
SarahM.

leaves

Post by SarahM. »

humor me for a second folks....