need kiln advice

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Ann Kleckner

need kiln advice

Post by Ann Kleckner »

Hi everyone. I’ve been reading and learning from your bulletin board now for several months and decided it was about time I register. I’ve been exploring glass painting, fusing and slumping for several years now in my spare time using an old ceramic kiln and a pyrometer. I make plates, bowls, dropouts and earrings. I’ve decided it is now time to move up to a true glass kiln with a controller. I’ve searched your bulletin board and archives for information and have narrowed my kiln choice down to two possibilities… The Skutt Clamshell or the Jen-Ken Professional series 24â€
Ann Kleckner
Artglass Delights
Brooklyn, Wisconsin
paulajane

Post by paulajane »

I, also, can't program a VCR, but I love the Glassmaster controller. I have a Skutt 814 and I think it is great. When I first got it, I did a number of test tiles to see if the temp was even and they all came out uniform on all sides and exactly alike. The same is true with the programs. I can determine the effect I want, and so long as my pieces have a similar consistency as far as thickness (I'm doing jewelry at the moment) I can predict how they will come out as far as time and temperature for fusing.

I hope this helps. I spent a long time deciding on a kiln. I even called some of the technicians at the factories for information. Skutt returned my call the same day.

Paula
Lisa Allen

Post by Lisa Allen »

I have a friend who has a paragon front loading kiln with top elements only. She regularly does 9 or 10 inch drops in it that work fine.