Fusing glass, dealing with cracks...ARGH!!!

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

molly

Fusing glass, dealing with cracks...ARGH!!!

Post by molly »

Hi everyone. This is my first post here, and I am just learning how to fuse glass. I tried my first piece yesterday, and was so thrilled! As it melted, the colors blended beautifully! (kiln has no peep hole, so i opened the door just enough to peek in.....could this be a problem?) Unfortunately, it cracked as it was cooling. I decided to try again today, with the same results. I have an older, used kiln with no controller. It does tell you the temperature inside the kiln, but that's all. It also has some chips in the firebrick on the front door which might be letting air in, causing the kiln to cool too fast. (going to reapir that as soon as my kiln mortar arrives in the mail) The kiln also seems to heat up rather quickly....it goes to 1500 degrees F, in about 1/2 hour. It cools to 100 degrees F. or less in about he same amount of time. I know I need a controller, but I am unemployed right now, and have NO money....(the typical "starving artist")...any advice? How can I get the kiln to cool more slowly? Is this the problem at all? Is there any way I can insulate the outside of the kiln? I am VERY frustrated trying to figure all of this out. I cannot afford a new kiln, either, so need to find a way around this glass cracking problem if possible. Will I master this with experience? Or do I just have to wait til I can afford all the expensive equipment?? Thank you in advance for any advice. Molly.
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

Molly,

You don't say how large the kiln is or if it has an infinite switch (numbers from 0 to 10 or low, med and hi settings). I've never seen a kiln with just an on-off switch, but I imagine they exist.