First Post From Higgins Glass

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Higgins Glass

First Post From Higgins Glass

Post by Higgins Glass »

Hi,
My name is Jon and I work for the Higgins Glass Studio in Riverside, IL. I have been working for the Higgins Studio for over 12 years (but grew up in the Studio from the age of two)and love it. I look forward from hearing from all of you and I hope I can Help in anyway.
Thanks, Jon
P.S. Frances is doing fine and at 90 years old she still works everyday. If you are not familiar with Michael and Frances Higgins feel free to check out our website http://www.higginsglass.com and read there history.
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

Welcome to the WarmGlass Board Jon.

It must be inspiring to work with (and be related to?) a living legend.

Tony Smith
The tightrope between being strange and being creative is too narrow to walk without occasionally landing on both sides..." Scott Berkun
Higgins Glass

Post by Higgins Glass »

Hi,
It is very inspiring Tony, to say the least. I am not blood related ( Frances and Michael never had children) but I am as close as it gets , they have always been like my Grandparents.
I have been making my own pieces for many years now and hope to post some photos soon ( if I can only figure out how).
Thanks, Jon
Brock

Post by Brock »

Hi Jon, great to see you posting here. Thanks for the slides, I show them in every class Avery and I teach, and just showed them at Arrowmont School in Tennessee.

Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Ross

Post by Ross »

I have a great hard back coffee table type book of theirs. Wasn't most of their early work done with float glass?
Higgins Glass

Post by Higgins Glass »