Smooth finish

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Linda Denli

Smooth finish

Post by Linda Denli »

Hi there -

I need some advice on getting a smoother finish.

I have fired a tranparent base topped with white opaque and finished with coloured designs and although the finished piece looks OK on top, the base is very rough. I have just made a dinner plate and I wouldn't want to put it onto a polished surface.

I am using Spectrum 96. Original fuse is on one eighth of an inch thick fibre paper and after fusing although the bottom takes on the grain from the paper, it is relatively smooth. The problem seems to arise after slumping - into a commercially made dinner plate mold coated with kiln wash.

Is there anything I can do to make the finish smoother or will I need to look at polishing? - something I've never tried before.

Best wishes

Linda
Linda from London
Brock

Post by Brock »

Two quick things . . . fire on kiln wash, less texture to begin with, and sandblast before slumping for an even smoother finish. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

Alternatively, try slumping at a lower temperature. You'll pick up much less texture from your mold. I slump System 96 at 1150°F (621°C on your side of the pond) and hold for 20 minutes. The temperature in your kiln may need to be slightly higher or slightly lower, but you get the idea...

Tony
The tightrope between being strange and being creative is too narrow to walk without occasionally landing on both sides..." Scott Berkun
Tony Serviente

Post by Tony Serviente »