Kiln stuff

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Leah Barr

Kiln stuff

Post by Leah Barr »

Kiln stuff

I am a newbie trying to figure out what kind of kiln to buy. I plan to do mostly jewelry fusing, but may do some slumping projects as well. I have a million questions, but the main ones are:

1. Top or front loading - pros and cons of each
2. How big? I am torn between a little QuickFire that can do jewelry fast, and something bigger but more versatile.
3. How important is it where the elements are located?

Thanks for all your help, there are too many choices out there.
Leah
Anna

Post by Anna »

Hi, Leah!
I make fused pieces for jewelry and I have a small kiln 25x50 cm inside
with the elements on the lid (top loading). I put in it material for 4-5
bracelets (for example) in time; just at the bottom with the fiber paper.
It will be more suitable for you to work in the square shaped kiln - you
can make small plates or something like this.
Good luck! Anna.
Tony Serviente

Re: Kiln stuff

Post by Tony Serviente »

Here are my musings Leah-
Top loading:Pro-Aerial view of work for fine tuning of placement. Can load complex projects that require much adjustment while assembling. Easy access for combing or other hot kiln manipulations.
Con-Can cause you to know a local chiropractor on a first name basis. Hard to load for stacked shelf firings. If it is deep, hard to load period.
Front loading: Pro-Easier to load if only using one shelf. Can stack shelves up with furniture and utilize the cubic footage of the kiln, not just the square footage. Con-Can get to know above mentioned chiropractor even better by virtue of man handling shelves in and out, kiln washing them, etc.