hiding devit

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Kay McConnell

hiding devit

Post by Kay McConnell »

I'm still a newbie to kiln work. Last evening I was fusing two pieces together prior to slumping them. When I opened the kiln this morning, the piece was a gorgeous oval, beautiful rounded sides, but with devit all over the top. (sigh...). I've seen solutions that can be applied to glass that result in the glass appearing as if it were "etched". After I'm done slumping this, would this etching liquid be a possibility? Has anyone ever tried this? Will the devit get worse with the second firing for slumping?
Also, the piece is larger in diameter than the mold (guess it spread?). It probably extends 1/4" on all sides of the mold. Can it still be used? If I grind it down to size, I'll lose my beautiful rounded edges. Will those edges reappear on the slumping firing? Thanks in advance for your help.
Kay (AKA- Rushsmom)
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

As far as the size goes, it should be fine. I intentionally make my pieces about 1/2 to 1" larger in diameter than my mold (dependent upon how deep the mold is).

You should get a fire polish on a slump, dependent upon how high a temp you use to bend the piece. I bend at about 1150 to 1200 and it glosses up a ground edge alright. It won't round the edges at this low temp though.

Once you have devit, you have devit unless you remove that glass by sandblasting or grinding it off.