1137 amber problem

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Terry Ow-Wing

1137 amber problem

Post by Terry Ow-Wing »

Has anyone had problems with 1137 amber?

THis is a picture of a plate design that I have been making for at least 2 years. I have now 4 cracked plates. I have used this design in two different kilns and the amber always cracks. I have the same exact design but without the amber glass and have fired it at the same time and the other platters always made it. It is cracking before my kiln reaches 500 degrees. I am ramping up at 450 degrees / hour. the size of the plate is 15" x 15". The batch on one of the sheets is 80403. The other sheet of glass I do not have the information. Of course I have my last show of the year this weekend and a huge commission where I need it.....ahhhhh! :cry:

http://www.acga.net/terryow-wing/1137.html
Last edited by Terry Ow-Wing on Tue Dec 09, 2003 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Terry Ow-Wing Designs
Kilnformed and Lampworked Glass Art
http://GlassArt.weebly.com
Barbara Muth

Post by Barbara Muth »

Terry that sounds a bit like what happened to me this summer. All of a suddent he schedule I had been using forever with some of my glass wasn't working. I say schedule because I looked at everything else. It has to do with the dark glass absorbing the heat faster than the light glass. Anyway, I was ramping up at 300. Now I ramp at 200 and no more cracked pieces. At BE they told me that I had been lucky thus far and my luck had run out. I was probably working at the limit of what the glass would take. Try slowing that ramp down.

Barbara
Barbara
Check out the glass manufacturer's recommended firing schedules...
LATEST GLASS
gone

Post by gone »

Hi Terry,