xerography questions

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

mcowdery

xerography questions

Post by mcowdery »

I recently read a message from Wallace Venable on using laser waterslide decal paper for the purpose of including a photographic image onto fused glass. I plan to try this, but does anyone know if the inkjet waterslide paper will work as well? I understand that you copy an image onto the shiny side of the paper,then spray it with a fixative,then dip it briefly in water, and slide it onto the glass.Can you fuse another piece of glass on top of this, or does the image have to be on the top surface of the piece? Also, will a colored image done on this waterslide paper come out colored when fired? I am fairly new to glassworking, and will greatly appreciate help with these questions. Thanks, Melinda
Ron Coleman

Post by Ron Coleman »

The process Wallace talks about,

http://www.warmglass.com/phpBB/viewtopi ... highlight=

is specific to the toner in a Xerox machine or laser jet printer and won't work with an inkjet printer image.

The black xerographic toners contain carbon black and iron oxide which makes up the image Wallace is firing. Not sure what would happen with color xerographic toners.

Inkjet printers use an ink made up of mostly organic dyes that will burn up during firing.

Ron
Wallace Venable

Post by Wallace Venable »

I have only used "laser" decal paper. I think ink-jet decal paper might work, but that they have different sueface finishes. It is possible, however, the the ink-jet paper might melt in the fuser of the printer or copy machine. Both types pf paper cost about the same. If you have ink-jet paper and are willing to risk your printer, please pass along the results.