Float glass annealing (not tempering)

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Shannon macklin

Float glass annealing (not tempering)

Post by Shannon macklin »

Anyone with experience on float glass annealing

I am very new in glass work. I have fused 2 pieces of 1/4 inch oval float glass, 22"x17", together and used hotline float glass powder to create a design on the glass. My fire schedule was
400/hr to 1000 hold:10
400/hr to 1200 hold:05
9999/hr to 1565 hold:25
9999/hr to 1150 hold:20
200/hr to 800 hold:20
100/hr to 600 hold:01
end
Everything turned out good, no devit, got a few bubbles, no big deal.
Now I have made a stainless steel mold oval, 12"x7", 6" high with sides that I will slump or drape over. My fire schedule is:
400/hr to 1000 hold:10
400/hr to 1200 hold:10
400/hr to 1325 hold:25
9999/hr to 1125 hold:60
200/hr to 825 hold:60
100/hr to 100 hold:01
end
On both fusing and slumping, am I being to conservitive or not enough?
I worry about annealing. This piece will be outdoors on a patio with lower winter temps and higher summer temps. I would like it to last. I would appreciate any help or comments. (I had said I was worried about tempering before, but I really meant annealing. Thanks for the input.)
Thanks, Shannon
Last edited by Shannon macklin on Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Judy Schnabel

Post by Judy Schnabel »

Shannon,

Bert is the real expert when it comes to firing float.

I've never fired two layers of 1/4" float so I can't give much advice. However, I anneal my float at 1030 (lots of people anneal float at 1000) but I think for the thickness you're firing I'd be annealing longer than you are.

Also, I usually start my slump at a lower temperature than 400 dph.