Rough underside

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

kbarbour

Rough underside

Post by kbarbour »

I am new to glass fusing. Currently I am making dichoric jewelry and have used both kiln wash and fiber paper underneath. I notice in both cases that the underside of the jewelry is rough. Especially the fiber paper. I have purchased dichroic jewelry in the past that has a nice smooth underside. Can anyone tell me how that is achieved.
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

You will get your smoothest result with kiln wash or Thinfire. If you are using kiln wash, you might want to try to smooth out the brush strokes even more 'sanding' it- once dry - with the palm of your hand and then vacuum off the dust.

Any kiln fired piece will have some texture on the shelf side of the piece. If 'sanding' down the primer doesn't work well enough for you try some thinfire paper...it's the smoothest of all. You should wear a respirator when cleaning up fired papers (or scraping off primer)...but thinfire is the most dusty of all. Wet clean up is a good idea.

Take it a notch further, and consider cold working the piece to a high gloss. That is pretty labor intensive, but what you put into it depends on where you want to take it. :)
Last edited by Cynthia on Mon Feb 09, 2004 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dolores

Post by Dolores »

smooth undersides can be achieved using a flat lapping machine. The piece is ground with finer and finer grits and then polished with cerium oxide. I got an 8" grinder from Hisglassworks.com as a Christmas gift and it raised the level of my workmanship considerably. With practice, it is possible to get a mirror finish and eliminate the need for fire-polishing (one less firing, yeah!!).

DOLORES
Dani

Post by Dani »