Using Photo Fusing Paper for the first time

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Shirley Bishop

Using Photo Fusing Paper for the first time

Post by Shirley Bishop »

I'm somewhat new to fusing but want to try Fusing Photo Paper that i ordered from Delphi.
My question is the printer and toner. I asked a guy at the Office Depot who told me he could not find anything on the internet on a MSDS sheet for the Canon toner that showed the toner contains IRON OXIDE like the instructions say. He gave me a magnet and said shake some toner out and see if it sticks to the magnet. Well, it didn't so now i'm confused. Don't want to go to all the hassle and waste glass if the toner will not produce the results. Can anyone help?
I have a Canon Laser Printer that uses Canon 118 black cartridges. However, i will also throw in here that the last cartridges i bought were online and not "official" Canon cartridges. Tell me it doesn't matter? Or should i go drop $124. on a new black Canon toner cartridge?
Valerie Adams

Re: Using Photo Fusing Paper for the first time

Post by Valerie Adams »

There's a ton of info on this topic, so you might want to search a bit (up in the right hand corner of the page). It used to be said that only HP printers would work (I've got a 1992 HP that prints nice decal paper), but in recent years others have chimed in with a few other brands that also work.
Barry Kaiser

Post by Barry Kaiser »

I have used several of the low end HP printers (with secondary market toner and cartridges). All worked fine.
If someone can find a decent list of printers that use iron, I would love to have a copy. I have taught courses with decals in them for years and always tell my students "all HP printers, most Apple and some Canon". I am probably wrong on the HP comment, but I haven't run into one.

Barry
JestersBaubles