Help with Fusing Schedule

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

LDGlass

Help with Fusing Schedule

Post by LDGlass »

Hello everyone... I'm getting ready to fire 2 layers (6-7 mm) of 90 C0E glass about 14" in diameter. I'm trying to put together a schedule so I don't have bubbles and I don't fire too fast which I have a tendency to do because I'm impatient. :roll: This is my first attempt at firing something this large.

1. 300 per hour to 900 hold 15
2. 500 to 1100 hold 0
3. 100 to 1250 hold 30-45
4. 9999 to 1480 hold 10
5. 9999 to 960 hold 1 hour
6. 100 to 800 hold 0
7. 200 to 750 hold 0
8. 400 to 100 hold 0

Comments and suggestions are welcomed and MOST appreciated!
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Re: Help with Fusing Schedule

Post by Brad Walker »

For starters, you will have bubbles. That's a given. The question is what kind of bubbles and how do you minimize their size!

There are several ways to minimize the number and size of trapped air bubbles. The most common is to include a bubble soak (also called a bubble squeeze) at around 1240F. This gives the bubbles time to escape. Half an hour is a typical soak time, but soaking for an hour or longer is preferable for larger pieces. The schedule you suggested has the soak at 1250F with this in mind.

A corollary to the bubble soak is to go slowly from around 1100 to 1240-1250. This also gives bubbles times to escape. Your schedule does this.

Also, it's a good idea NOT to go as fast as possible from the end of the bubble soak (1240-1250) to your fusing temperature. Instead, go around 200-300F dph. This helps with both trapped air bubbles and with the large bubbles that can pop up between the kiln shelf and the glass. Many schedules, including the one you suggest (and, I confess, some I've suggested in the past) say to go AFAP, but I find I get better results when I slow down.