Adding cremains to already fused piece?

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

krccpht

Adding cremains to already fused piece?

Post by krccpht »

Does anyone here have experience with adding cremains to already fused pieces? I got ahead of myself and went ahead and painted a heart with glassline on the front of a pendant, then stuck one individual piece of some cremains in the middle of the heart, then put a small dab of the glassline paint over it to "seal" it in. It is drying right now. I've had no experience with adding cremains, and no experience with glassline paint. BUT this is for me so if it doesn't come out right then it's not a big deal, I'll still keep the pendant anyway. The reason I want to only add cremains to already fused pieces is because I still have pendants and things that don't come out right and I'd rather add them to pieces that I know are already good. I've seen online where people will add an individual piece of cremains to the back of an already finished/fused piece. How?

-Can you just add a cremain or two to some glassline then fire, as I mentioned above that I'm trying? And do I need to take this to a full fuse?
-Can you just sprinkle some on top of a finished piece then cover with clear frit?
krccpht

Re: Adding cremains to already fused piece?

Post by krccpht »

I am going to post my personal findings from my experiment in case anyone else is ever interested.

First, as stated above, I painted a heart with glassline on a dichroic pendant and added a single piece of cremain in the middle, let it dry then fired it.
The result: The creamain piece did not get fully sealed (which is what I expected), it was attached but you could still see/feel it sticking out.

Next, I re-painted the heart with a different color, covering the cremain again, and this time topped it with clear frit.