Wet belt sander

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Laurie Spray

Wet belt sander

Post by Laurie Spray »

I have been using a 24" flat lap grinder for the last 8 years or so. I would like to add a wet belt sander to our studio. I do not want to make a mistake by getting one that is too small and of course do not want to get one that we will quickly out grow. Been looking at Covington. The work we would be doing is probably not going to be larger then 21". 1/2" thick. Any recommendations are appreciated!
Laurie Spray

New website!! Http://bonnydoonfusedglasstools.com
Maker of stainless steel rings,pattern bar formers, pot melt pots, and Bottomless Molds
glass: http://lauriespray.blogspot.com
Tom Fuhrman

Re: Wet belt sander

Post by Tom Fuhrman »

older Somaca 132" x 4" OR 106"x 4" if you can find one. C.R. Lawrence makes a good one as well.they bought out Somaca a couple of years ago. The 0ne I had was made in the 40's and it is still going strong.
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Post by Brad Walker »

You will outgrow (if you haven't already) any of the Covington models. Get a floor model, either Somaca or CRL or Bee from Canada. All fairly similar, all about double the price of the top of the line Covington, and all will last the rest of your life.

I have a very old CRL (though not as old as Tom's), so if you can find a used model in decent shape it can still serve you well.
Marian

Post by Marian »