quality glass cutter

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

ironman55

quality glass cutter

Post by ironman55 »

I am looking for a good quality glass cutter as there are tons on the market and I don't know which one to choose as I have little experience.

I did buy one but its terrible or I am terrible with it, or both

Any help would be appreciated! :)

Thanks, Joe
Studiodunn

Re: quality glass cutter

Post by Studiodunn »

So far my Bohle Silberschnitt has been my favorite cutter to date. I went through a pistol grip phase, but find I am enjoying the feel of an easy grip approach to glass cutting.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Silberschnitt-E ... 0973692150
“I would rather die than hate you.”
- Martin Luther King
Jolinda

Post by Jolinda »

I think a lot has to do with your arm, wrist and shoulder strength (probably height is a factor as well). For me, an aging
woman who has cut glass with almost every cutter ever made, I wouldn't take a million dollars for my MacInnes Glass Cutter, sold
exclusively at Sunshine Glass works.
They are special carbide wheels and you can use different wheels for different types of glass.
At one time they had a wonderful plastic pistol shaped holder for this cutter and fortunately I ordered two of those before they
no longer carry them but just the stick shaped cutter works very well. Dan Fenton, who I respected enormously, said if you don't
buy yourself anything else, get this cutter. I did, and have two for regular and hard to cut glasses, have changed out the wheels
(makes it so affordible) easily and continue to be thrilled and amazed at the improvement in my cutting experience. Hope this helps.
Here's a link: http://www.sunshineglass.com/rcol/c-tools/macinnes.htm
"Windows listen for the announcement of broken glass" ... Anonymous
Jolinda
Rick Wilton

Post by Rick Wilton »

I use these Image