Second fuse??

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

cmcdonald

Second fuse??

Post by cmcdonald »

I am quite new to the fused glass art world. So with that background, I would like to ask a few questions. I wanted to explore a bit using dichroic, both cut pieces and Bullseye Sizzle Stix. I made four trays, approximately 5 x 9. One is Opaque White on a Tekta base, another is Stiff Black on a Tekta base. These two have two clear Stix and 5 small triangles of CBS dichroic - exactly the same colors and thin. The next tray is Stiff Black with clear irid on top and the last one is Opaque White with clear irid on top. They each have two black Stix and the same 5 small triangles of CBS dichroic. The firing schedule I used is: 400:1000:10; 200:1370:30; 400:1480:10; AFAP:900:90; 100:700:off. The Stix on the two trays with the Tekta base are still slightly raised, the dichroic triangles have just a few slightly sorta scratchy places. The two trays with the clear irid caps have fully fused Stix however several triangles are quite rough. So, the questions are, can I achieve a totally flat, smooth surface with the Stix and Dichroic? Can/Should I refire these pieces to achieve that goal? If so, same schedule? or modify where in it? Oh, the kiln is a Pearl 22 from Paragon. I did not use dams or any sort of containment. If I refire, should I? I have attached photos of each tray - at least I think I have! When I preview, I am only seeing 3 and seems to be a limit when I try to add the fourth one. Thanks so much for any advice!
Attachments
thumb_IMG_1468_1024.jpg
thumb_IMG_1469_1024.jpg
thumb_IMG_1467_1024.jpg
cmcdonald

Last Photo

Post by cmcdonald »

This is the last of the four photos from the previous fusing question post.
Thanks!
Attachments
thumb_IMG_1470_1024.jpg
JestersBaubles

Re: Second fuse??

Post by JestersBaubles »