WORKING WITH LIQUID ENAMELS OR GLASS PAINTS

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Havi

WORKING WITH LIQUID ENAMELS OR GLASS PAINTS

Post by Havi »

Hello everybody.
I must be very stupid, or I do not know what.
I AM A PRINTMAKER, I know how to print I have a lot of experience from my past studies. Even my graduate exhibition at the university [ages ago.... :D ] was prints.
I also work with glass, especially with powders / wafers, now. Those were my 2 areas of study for my graduate degree. Printmaking and Glass Design.

I am very happy that I can combine these 2 abilities of mine, and make things that I love.... the way I love...

What I lack, is experience with liquid enamels, and knowledge how to use them.

I bought a lot of colorline paints, I print them on my piece, and the results are not satisfying.....
1. the color changes after firing....[was told to ventilate the kiln - it helps a little]
2. when I fire a piece more than once - the paint kind of breaks - i.e. there become holes in the paint [or pigment, whatever you may call it]. Sometimes it is more interesting like this - sometimes not. However, it is not ME who controls it.
Can this be avoided?

I would like to ask if anyone else has experience like this [if is willing to admit failure...]

Is this typical of ALL the liquid paints / enamels, or special to colorline [please do not ask me to talk to the manufacturer - I have done it, ]

Are other enamels / paints which I can use for printing on glass , where I could work also including using wafers, powders etc. Without any undesired reaction with the glass or powder?
Can the alternative enamels be fired more than one and keep the original color / shape???

Yes, Brad I have Jody's book and I am going to read it after posting this. However, I would like to hear others' experience too.