Kokomo for fusing?

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Terry Gallentine

Kokomo for fusing?

Post by Terry Gallentine »

With the demise of Spectrum and the expected high price increases of Bullseye and Uroboros I am exploring the use of Kokomo transparent glasses for fusing. I have heard that the Kokomo glasses are a 96 COE glass. I have been bending their glasses for light fixtures for many years but I have never tried fusing their transparent glasses. Has anybody out there worked with Kokomo for fusing projects?
Vonon

Re: Kokomo for fusing?

Post by Vonon »

Check out Wissmach made in WV. The are producing both 90 and 96 compatible now. I have used the 90 and am pleased with the color.
Vonon
Marty

Post by Marty »

Wasn't Wissmach bringing in that awful Chinese 90 glass? Are they now doing it in-house?
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Post by Brad Walker »

Marty wrote:Wasn't Wissmach bringing in that awful Chinese 90 glass? Are they now doing it in-house?
They say it's in house.
Don Burt

Post by Don Burt »

The best stuff costs a little more now. No change of plan here. Thank you BE and Uro.
Don Burt

Post by Don Burt »

I use Kokomo too, but not for fusing.
DonMcClennen

Post by DonMcClennen »

Wissmach... not much in variety of opals that I can see!
"The Glassman"
Buttercup

Post by Buttercup »

Here's some information from Kokomo from 2004. Don't know if it's still current.

http://warmglass.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=4548

I've been told that some artists in Australia are fusing with Kokomo, testing before committing, but I have no personal knowledge. Jen
Tom Fuhrman

Post by Tom Fuhrman »

It can be done. I met a woman at an art fair about 10 years ago from Florida who used Kokomo exclusively for fusing.. As has been mentioned, test everything before getting too carried away with designs.
Kevin Midgley