Large Sheet Glass and Color

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

brendab

Post by brendab »

I am new to glass fusing, and would like to know if it is possible to fuse 2 sheets of Bullsey 24"x72" clear sheets and then add various sizes and colors of frit? The result I am hoping for is a mottling of the colors while retaining some of the shapes of the larger pieces of frit. Could I also try a compatible 'streaky' product, crush it, and sprinkle it on the glass? If this color addition is possible, would there be any point in trying to sandwich it in between the two sheets of glass?
Thanks in Advance
brenda
Bert Weiss

Re: Large Sheet Glass and Color

Post by Bert Weiss »

brendab wrote:I am new to glass fusing, and would like to know if it is possible to fuse 2 sheets of Bullsey 24"x72" clear sheets and then add various sizes and colors of frit? The result I am hoping for is a mottling of the colors while retaining some of the shapes of the larger pieces of frit. Could I also try a compatible 'streaky' product, crush it, and sprinkle it on the glass? If this color addition is possible, would there be any point in trying to sandwich it in between the two sheets of glass?
Thanks in Advance
brenda
Brenda

As long as all of the glasses are compatible all of your ideas can work with a bit of learning curve. Start small and when it is working for you, enlarge.
Bert

Bert Weiss Art Glass*
http://www.customartglass.com
Furniture Lighting Sculpture Tableware
Architectural Commissions
The Hobbyist

Post by The Hobbyist »

Bert Weiss wrote: Start small and when it is working for you, enlarge.
Or just go for it! Experiment with the full sheets. That way the experience will be much more expensive and you'll not forget it as easily.