New to fusing - seek advice on sharper edges.

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

turi

New to fusing - seek advice on sharper edges.

Post by turi »

Hi folks,
I'm new to fusing and working on an interactive glass project. If you recall a child's game of a maze mounted in a box throuh whihc you attempt to navigate a marble around a series of holes by turning two nobs, imagine this with water and glass and copper inclusions.

Since I am using water, I need to make the sides of the maze rather tall so that they channel the water. With the full fuses I have been doing, the edges channel edges are quite rounded and low. I'd like to figure out a way to stack glass about 1/2 inch high, and have it stay about that high after the fuse.

Do you have any suggestions? I've read about a tack fuse, but I am not sure how the schedule should differ from the full fuse schedule I am running now:

1:00 - 500
2:00 - 1175
3:00 - 1175 (hold)
3:01 - 1575 (jump up fast)
3:16 - 1575 (soak for 15 min)
3:17 - 1050 (down as fast as possible)
4:17 - 1050 (hold)
7:17 - 750
9:17 - 500
Off

I appreciate the help!
My best, Turi
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

Try 1375° to 1400° instead of 1575°. That will give you a tack fuse and will leave your edges sharp.

Tony
The tightrope between being strange and being creative is too narrow to walk without occasionally landing on both sides..." Scott Berkun
gone

Post by gone »

How about firing it upside down and using fiber paper to make the water channels?
turi

Post by turi »

Hi Els -