size of kiln for 120V

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Paulette

size of kiln for 120V

Post by Paulette »

I am thinking of having a kiln built by Olympic. 17" square to run on 120v (I think that's what house current is). It will be 6" deep and have elements in top and sides. Are there any drawbacks to this? Obviously they don't sell them, so what would the reason be? Too long to heat up? Not even heat? I appreciate all the help I can get...I'm a total beginner on fusing.

It needs to be totally portable because I will take it back and forth with me between FL and PA. I live in a condo at both places, so I don't want to use 220. I plan on putting this in the den. Is there a problem with using them inside the house?

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions,
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »

I'm very interested in hearing practical news of what does and does not work relative to a 120 volt kiln.
Bert

Bert Weiss Art Glass*
http://www.customartglass.com
Furniture Lighting Sculpture Tableware
Architectural Commissions
Riverviewglass

Post by Riverviewglass »

I have a Paragon 120 volt - 13 inch round shelf - which can be transported back and forth - but it does weight 40+ pounds - that is one drawback - but is doable.
As to using the kiln in your den or anywhere in your condo - if you use fiber paper you will get a horrific smell - and also an odor from fresh kiln wash although not nearly as bad - so that could be a problem - also is the area where you are going to put the kiln well ventilated and away from anything flamable - drapes, carpet, etc.
Just some things for you to think about. Kim
Paulette

Post by Paulette »