sinks

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Jen

sinks

Post by Jen »

Hi I am new to fusing I usually work with pyrex and borc. glass. I wanted to learn how to do sinks. Does anyone have any hints. If you have done them do you prefer the drop ring or mold? Mahalo...
Glenda Kronke

Post by Glenda Kronke »

Hi Jen and welcome!

I guess I'll jump in here since no one has replied to your question.

I believe there is a large learning curve to making a sink that will not break under normal use, especially if you have not fused before. I would start with the tutorials on basic fusing, then I would start making small projects and work your way up to the larger pieces. There are many exciting things to learn along the way. Only after you are confident that you can properly anneal a large piece (among other things) would I suggest trying to make a sink. You would not want to make a sink for your mom's house and have it break while she was standing there washing her hands. It could be quite dangerous. (there are liability issues)

I would also suggest searching the old archives for 'sinks'. There has been some discussion on this. *There is even a company (RCN) out there selling 'sink' kilns (very pricey).

BTW: When you say you are new to fusing and usually work with pyrex and borc. glass, does that mean you are a flame-worker? I know that even with flame working there's a learning curve. (I have a torch and have made beads and stringer, etc for years but I am not even close to attempting a sculptural piece) Am I making sense?