New and kiln is getting delivered today!

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

haleybach

New and kiln is getting delivered today!

Post by haleybach »

I am really new to warm glass but I'm a dive right in kind of girl so I have a Paragon 16 Clam Shell being delivered today :D the electrician was here Friday so once it arrives I'm good to go. On that front. Oh and the basic kit with a shelf and whatnot too.

I have a selection of Bullseye glass, frit, and powder. Kiln wash, fiber paper (why is it not called felt?) and thinfire (paper). Basic tools, a workbench, and such.

I have made tiles and a platter and a few small things at a local studio, so I can cut glass, know a little about arranging things, have attempted a few tecniques such as painting with frit, powder wafers, freeze and fuse. I've read lots of tutorials. Lots.

However I've never actually fired anything, that part has always just been magic. Lay something out, put my name and if I want a full fuse, soft, or tack on a slip of paper, and then come back a few days later to a magically fused piece.

Two related questions.

1) What is a good test for a first firing with a new kiln? What am I looking for?

2) What should else do I need/want? Or really what is a reasonable way to proceed, I want/need one of everything.

In the classes I've taken they have these handy little shelves that we build things on and I'm pretty sure are then put directly in the kiln. They almost look like unglazed ceramic tiles. Is that what they are?

I know I want to do on edge construction so I need, um, well what do I need? I plan to get my Father In-law to build me a strip cutter from fusedglass.org plans.

One of my challenges is pretty severe arthritis so anything that makes getting things from my workbench into the kiln easier will be a good investment for me.
Tracy Fries

Re: New and kiln is getting delivered today!

Post by Tracy Fries »