Matte slumped pieces

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

beva

Matte slumped pieces

Post by beva »

Hello, first happy new year to everyone!
I'm a newbie, and I made only very few experiments with fusing and slumping. While my fused pieces come out as I expected them, I have some problem with slumping. I always (3 times so far :-)) get a matte surface where the glass deformed. In the center of the pieces the surface stayed shiny. I fired twice these pieces, first I full fused them at the 1510 degree process temp. The second firing was for slumping, at 1200 degree. All 3 pieces had the same problem, no matter how thick it was the glass or how fast or slow was the firing speed. The matte surface is not even, but stayed glossy where the glass is "higher" - above bubbles, and waves as you can see on the photos.
I'm not sure if it's devit or not. I think it is not, because the whole slumping process was below the devit zone. The most interesting thing for me is that I put another pice for slumping while a tack fusing programme was going on. This piece was already a waste because of other reasons, and I was just curious what it's gonna do in the kiln. As for 5 layer tack fuse the program was quite slow with a 1410 degree process temperature. It slumped and its surface stayed clean and shiny.
Any idea what it can be and how to avoid this matte surface? Shall I go as high as 1400 just for slumping??
Thanks for any clue
Attachments
P1050390.JPG
P1050390.JPG (89.88 KiB) Viewed 20369 times
P1050388.JPG
P1050388.JPG (88.23 KiB) Viewed 20369 times
rosanna gusler

Re: Matte slumped pieces

Post by rosanna gusler »

Float glass? If so that is the tin layer compressing. Rosanna
artist, owner of wanchese art studio, marine finisher
beva

Post by beva »

Yes, float. What's that? I've tried to google it, but nothing found.
Can I avoid that by higher process temp?
Eva
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »