Broken Bowl Slump

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Amy Jakowski

Broken Bowl Slump

Post by Amy Jakowski »

I full fused this piece (see photo) in our pottery kiln. I programed a slump with 3 other bowls. All bowls were fine- but this one- It was thinner than the other 3 bowls. It looks like it slumped at the edge of the mold and the edge of the lower shelf. When did it break?? I am new to fusing. I used the System 96 published programs.
Attachments
On mold
On mold
Laurie Spray

Re: Broken Bowl Slump

Post by Laurie Spray »

What a shame. Such a cute bowl. It obviously happened on the way up. What as your schedule? What kind of kiln. Knowing that is the only way we can help!
Laurie Spray

New website!! Http://bonnydoonfusedglasstools.com
Maker of stainless steel rings,pattern bar formers, pot melt pots, and Bottomless Molds
glass: http://lauriespray.blogspot.com
Amy Jakowski

Post by Amy Jakowski »

Skutt kiln used mostly for pottery. Here's the schedule I used for slumping taken from System 96 booklet.
Ramp > Goal temp > Hold Time
150> 300> 15'
300> 1100> 20'
150> 1235> 15'
9999*> 950> 60'
150> 800> 10'
300> 100> 0
David Jenkins

Post by David Jenkins »

Was the blank circular to start with? Were you slumping over the mold, or into it?
Dave Jenkins
Glass at Harbor Gates
Cypress, TX
Marty

Post by Marty »

David- From the photo it was into the mold.
Amy- Scrap the published program- there's no need for a hold at 300 and the rates up are too fast. (The annealing looks problematic too.) You can use the Bullseye schedules on Spectrum- just anneal at 950 instead of 900- I think they're a lot more careful.
Have you got Brad's book?
Richard Blummer

Post by Richard Blummer »

Amy,