Will these directions produce a properly fused, round blank?

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Shelley Lewis

Will these directions produce a properly fused, round blank?

Post by Shelley Lewis »

I downloaded this project from a very popular glass website:

Use a 3mm 12" clear system 96 circle, then place a 3mm 9" transparent colored circle in the center. Full fuse using following schedule:

250 250 30
250 1050 60
200 1250 30
250 1370 20
300 1465 10
Full 950 60
200 800 10
300 100 0

I'm fairly new to fusing, but it's my understanding that glass wants to be 6mm thick. If both layers are 3mm thick, won't the clear glass pull in, causing an uneven finished circle?
JestersBaubles

Re: Will these directions produce a properly fused, round bl

Post by JestersBaubles »

It will likely pull in fairly uniformly, if both pieces are nice, uniform circles, and if the 9" disk is placed in the middle.

My schedule would be different, but firing schedules really aren't the issue here.

Dana W.
JestersBaubles

Post by JestersBaubles »

Your schedule:
250 250 30
250 1050 60
200 1250 30
250 1370 20
300 1465 10
Full 950 60
200 800 10
300 100 0

What I typically use:
250 > 1100, hold 30
50 > 1250, hold 30 - 60 (for the bubble squeeze)
250 > 1460 (or whatever works in your kiln for full fuse) 10-20, depending upon the piece
Full > 950, hold 60 to 90, depending upon how much I like the piece :mrgreen:
100 > 700, hold 5 or 10
Off (my kilns are fiber brick and cool VERY slowly, so this is a safe schedule for me)

Dana W.
David Jenkins

Post by David Jenkins »

Interesting thought experiment. I'd like to see actual results. Then some results with varying diameter ratios.
Dave Jenkins
Glass at Harbor Gates
Cypress, TX
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »

JestersBaubles wrote:Your schedule:
250 250 30
250 1050 60
200 1250 30
250 1370 20
300 1465 10
Full 950 60
200 800 10
300 100 0

What I typically use:
250 > 1100, hold 30