advice on best kilns ... value for money

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

TracyP

advice on best kilns ... value for money

Post by TracyP »

I am very new to glass fusing / slumping and have at present only attended a one day course which I really enjoyed.  I would like to take this up as a hobby initially but who knows in time whether this could become a little more serious ... I can live in hope ;)..  I want to invest in a kiln suitable for glass fusing, slumping and also PMC and wondered what people would recommend as a good kiln – not too small as I may want to attempt bowls etc later down the line.

I have been told the Skutt Hotstart Pro is a good startup kiln but any views would be greatly appreciated.  I really wouldn’t want to spend more than £750 but if there is a lot better model slightly more it might not be a problem.

Any advice pros / cons would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks Tracy
The Hobbyist

Re: advice on best kilns ... value for money

Post by The Hobbyist »

Many people, myself included, begin by finding a used kiln. That first kiln is often a ceramic kiln because they are plentiful and generally inexpensive if you are patient. Many have hardly ever been fired. Craigslist and Ebay are excellent sources.

Using a ceramic kiln requires purchasing a pyrometer to monitor the temperature. You can add a separate controller later if you continue. Firing with a pyrometer in a ceramic kiln requires a learning curve that I found very beneficial. You are forced to pay attention to what's happening in the kiln and how your glass is behaving with respect to the heat you're applying. That knowledge is not wasted when you finally go to the convenience of a controller.

If you find this addiction to playing with glass is not for you you will have invested a minimal amount of cash.

Jim "The Hobbyist"