Cleaning Glass after Grinding Edges

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Pmasuhr

Cleaning Glass after Grinding Edges

Post by Pmasuhr »

I am fairly new to fusing, dabbling on and off for the past two years. I recently made an oblong platter, which was full fused and then slumped. I assembled this at a home studio where I've taken some lessons about a month ago and left it to be fused. When I picked it up this past weekend, there were marks on the glass where the strip cuts butted up against the other glass (kind of a scummy mark line). I know this is difficult to assess without a photo. But it has a sheen to it and I can see through it also. I wasn't sure if this was davit or if I had possibly ground the edges of the glass, or a possible reaction. Regardless, I can't use the piece. Two questions - 1) If I did grind the edges (it's just too long ago and I can't remember), how do people clean it properly so that there isn't any remaining residue? It is certainly possible that this is what happened. I did clean the glass, but perhaps not as well as I should have. 2) Now that the piece is slumped, is it scrap, or is there something I can do to recover the piece - maybe add a design element to cover the line?? Would I try to fuse it flat? The good news is that I'm getting my own kiln next month. If I had seen the problem after the full fuse, I wouldn't have slumped it :) The glass that I used was Bullseye Medium amber with a strip of French Vanilla and and strip of Black Opal. I know that the French Vanilla is reactive - could that be a possible problem? But the lines are on both the FV and Black sides of the strip. I don't know if this piece was fused with anything else in the kiln. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
DonMcClennen

Re: Cleaning Glass after Grinding Edges

Post by DonMcClennen »