What did I do? Fusing gone bad!

Want to share a photo of your work? Or get feedback on a new piece? Post it here. (Note: items in this forum are deleted periodically, generally after several months.)

Moderator: Brad Walker

deb.co

What did I do? Fusing gone bad!

Post by deb.co »

I'm new to fusing and I'd like your opinion as to what I did wrong. I did a test strip with all of the glass and it looked like it was all compatible. I suspect that I'm reading my stressometer incorrectly. Can you tell by the break pattern?

Thanks for your help!

Deb

http://community.webshots.com/photo/109 ... 5052yGKyvU
Brock

Post by Brock »

It looks to me like ALL your streaky is incompatible with the trans blue.
Ron Coleman

Post by Ron Coleman »

That's the best example of incompatible glass I've seen in a while. Brad should use that picture in his next book.

The interesting thing to me are the sunken areas along the cracks in the transparent blue glass. Looks like the glass pulled apart before it was solid. I wonder if the glass was refired to heal the cracks?

Ron
Jackie Beckman

Post by Jackie Beckman »

That's the best example of incompatible glass I've seen in a while. Brad should use that picture in his next book.
Ha! Ron, as I was looking at the picture the exact same thought - even the exact same words, were going through my mind! Funny! :lol:
Dayle Ann

Post by Dayle Ann »

Deb, I am new to fused glass too, and I'm trying my best to learn from other folks' mistakes so I can avoid them!

What kind of glass did you use? On my monitor it looks as if you capped the squares with clear. If you did cap, I'm wondering if perhaps it was a different sort of glass, and that might be the problem? Are the cracks in the cap, or in the squares?

Dayle Ann
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

I think Brock nailed it here. The clear cap is compatible with the light and dark blue squares, everything else is a different COE and not compatible with the clear.