Light Reading

Want to share a photo of your work? Or get feedback on a new piece? Post it here. (Note: items in this forum are deleted periodically, generally after several months.)

Moderator: Brad Walker

Bob

Light Reading

Post by Bob »

A wonderful new library recently opened where we live on Salt Spring Island and there was a call for art work to occupy walls and display areas. I didn't enter the competition but I thought quite a bit about what I would have done. I initially thought of making bookends but the idea kept morphing. Eventually it got around to the books themselves and I started playing with stacks of books that would be found on a night table or beside a favourite reading chair. Rather than books stored on a shelf I wanted the casual and spontaneous feeling of someone actively using the books. So I grabbed some books and began the modeling exercise by stacking and rearranging the stack. The challenge was to get the right "spontaneous" arrangement but getting a good composition. Had to let the obsessive side of my mind relax a bit.

So here are two images. The first is the a version of the model and the second is the stack of glass books. Sorry the glass image was taken in a gallery and the lighting isn't great The glass books are all the size of the original books. The pages were made by fusing stacks of tints or combining clear glass with tints or transparent glass. The covers are iridized transparent glass with a layer of thin white to stop the colour of the cover from bleeding into the pages. When the light shines through the books they have a lovely soft glow.

This is the first piece in the last 15 years that does not have one grain of glass powder in it. Way outside of my comfort zone.

The title: Light Reading

sbaddley

Re: Light Reading

Post by sbaddley »

You should get out of your comfort zone more often. This is terrific.
Scott B
twin vision glass

Post by twin vision glass »