Ouch! Does smart business=evil artist?

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

Susan Taylor Glasgow

Ouch! Does smart business=evil artist?

Post by Susan Taylor Glasgow »

Wow. Recent conversations with other artists about my patent pending process has made me question my worth as a good human being/nice artist! I'm secretly hoping for moral support here, but really, truly want honest feedback. I love creating work, but I can only continue to create if I sell it. No fancy business degree needed there. So early on in my R&D I decided I wanted to protect my technique/style so I could finally make a living in art, be special :-), and maybe even make up for several lost years of "developing as an artist". Granted, I'm self-taught in both business and art, so I do live in my own little world, so set me right if I'm off base here....At a recent workshop where I was attending as a student, I got "poop" from not only the other students, but from the instructor as well for not wanting to "share" my technique! They argued that it was un-artist-like and you can't keep other artists from figuring it out using it anyway. My arguement is that this is my business! And I'll lovingly share alot of info, but lay off my signature style. It's a sad art climate where not even the Masters like Lino and Chihuly can keep knock-offs of their work out of every mid-range gallery in the nation! Am I alone here? Or have I just made myself out to be the Black Sheep?
Patent pending Sewn Glass.
Brock

Post by Brock »