Shared studio space questions

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

Christyn Mattson

Shared studio space questions

Post by Christyn Mattson »

I recently read Marty's post about Bruce Laughlin's plight in searching for new studio space which has prompted my question for those of you who have done this or are considering it.

Currently, I am a fulltime artist working out of a home studio. I would very much like to expand and move to a retail space where public access might be more likely. As with many artists, I have limited to no start-up funds, just the equipment, desire and a dream. I have considered placing a flyer at our community arts center asking for other fellow artists (2 or 3) who would be interested in sharing a space. I am the only warm glass artist studio in the area and would like to share space with artists of other mediums. My thoughts are we could share space, phone, gallery space and utilities but each artist would operate their own separate business within that space. Prior to settling into any situation, I would consult a lawyer to draw up a contract of sorts to protect all involved.
Do any of you operate this way or in similar ways, and what are the challenges/advantages you have encountered? Thanks so much everyone!

Christyn
Susan Wright

Post by Susan Wright »