Craft shows

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

Cate G

Craft shows

Post by Cate G »

For those of you who participate in fine art and craft shows, what is selling for you? I had a booth at the Woodstock/ New Paltz, NY spring show. It was the first semi-big show I've done. Tons of people, even though the weather wasn't the best. I sold no fused glass bowls/ plates/ platters at all, which surprised me. I have been making these fish wind chimes for many years, and that is what sold, so the weekend wasn't a complete bust. I thought the economy was picking up a bit.
Cate
Eryc F.

Re: Craft shows

Post by Eryc F. »

I just did a show (Wrentham, MA) and sold mostly small candle plates and matching coasters.
JestersBaubles

Post by JestersBaubles »

I agree -- candle/soap dishes and coasters.

And anything with a dragonfly. I'm going to give in and just start making d@mned dragonflies. :roll:

Dana W.
Eryc F.

Post by Eryc F. »

<off topic>
funny, I have fused apple suncatchers a friend bought for his wife. She wanted butterflies, and four people said "Ohhhh, butterflies!" so fine, I'll do butterflies.
</off topic>

I think people are a little afraid of stained glass works. They NORMALLY only see them in churches and "fancy" houses, and can't imagine owning them. My booth "frames" intentionally look like windows and I explain that people can hang them from the top of a window frame.

Fused pieces are more "approachable". Everyone has dishes, coasters, candle plates, fridge magnets. This is art with a FUNCTION, while stained glass tends to be art for art's sake.
DonMcClennen

Post by DonMcClennen »

So many "craft" shows are now flooded with beginner type fused glass that I think lots of discriminating buyers are giving it a pass.
There is still a somewhat quieted market for "Gallery" quality work in the right venue.......Otherwise inexpensive suncatchers and pendants are your product of choice! :(
"The Glassman"