Am I totally unreasonable?

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

kelly alge

Am I totally unreasonable?

Post by kelly alge »

I have been fusing for about 8 years. I've been teaching fusing for the past several years,and I sell my pieces (jewelry and panels) in a few select galleries within 150 miles of my home. Recently a customer of mine saw a piece in a gallery identical to one she had purchased from me a year before, thought it was my work, ( I make and sell LOTS of these) and then found out from the gallery that it was the work of one of my past students. I contacted the student, explained the situation, asked her kindly to stop making this design, and to pull the ones she has in stores. I gave her the benefit of the doubt and supposed that she had seen mine in class and accidentally copied it. I have my work out during my classes for "inspiration" purposes, but ask that students not copy designs.