Pot Melt Firing Schedule

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Kitty

Pot Melt Firing Schedule

Post by Kitty »

i've set up a melt in the big kiln, and shelf has about 20 coats of BE kw on it. broad pot, not very tall, good-sized hole, filled with variety of scraps. this is my first attempt. thought i had kept a schedule from a thread, but can't find it in my file nor in archive. i am thinking of:

300 dph to 1000
500 dph to 1200
9999 to 1700, set hold for an hour, but watch
9999 to 960
150 dph to 700
off. cool to RT for about 12 hrs.

whaddya think? it's all junk scraps in there, varying thicknesses. maybe i could ramp up faster? i'm going to start the project now, and if someone answers this in the next couple of hours, i can reprogram the ramps. many thanks, friends. kitty.
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

I go AFAP to 1700, hold til the pot quits dribbling (depends on how full you charged the pot and how big the pot is), and anneal at 960 for 30 minutes with a ramp of 150 dph to 750 (for BE) then off.

NO need to go slow since you have a bucket full of shards anyway. I have never had any problems screaming up to 1700 to date anyway.
Kitty

Post by Kitty »

TY cynthia ... i thought i could go really fast, but it seemed sensible to ask first and limit regrets. gone to change the sked right now. mahalo. kitty.
Betty

melt pot

Post by Betty »

I am getting ready to try the melt pot thing. Let us know how it turn out.
Kitty

Post by Kitty »

5:15 now, and contents of pot entirely melted thru. disk appears pretty circular and even, and no "tail" from pot to glass on shelf. will report tomorrow when cooled. i'm really curious to see the result ... this melt was scrap from early bubble disasters, so it's a free experiment. kitty.
Kim Bellis

Post by Kim Bellis »

Kitty: