Casting with window glass (a.k.a. float galss)

Use this forum for discussion on kiln casting, pate de verre, and related topics.

Moderator: Brad Walker

rskrishnan

Casting with window glass (a.k.a. float galss)

Post by rskrishnan »

Hello All,

I've been casting for about 3 years now - mostly with BullsEye frit/cullet/broken up sheet fragments. I've also used Gaffer occassionally - mostly avoid it because of Lead content (paranoia ??).

I've -THOUGHT- about using window glass for casting. I have slumped with it and it is a MUCH harder glass to work with, higher temps, devitrifies easily, and does'nt seem half as cooperative as BullsEye or Gaffer.

My reasons to switch are primarily for $$ reasons - my bank acct seems allergic to splurges in this economy, butmy heart is set on catsing glass! Gaffer is almost as expensive as BullsEye (though a much easier galss to deal with).

It would save me a lot of heart-break if some of the master-casters could post their opinions/experiences/ideas on casting with window glass.

How do you make it flow well ? How do you colour it ?

Also - I expect to get "scrap" from the local hardware store - they throw out a garbage can full every week - which is PLENTY of casting supply for me! So should I worry about compatibility problems since the scrap could be diff manufacturers/diff batches/diff thicknesses etc

Thanks,
Krishnan
--
If I could I would, but I can't so I won't.
Still I love to cast glass ....
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »

Float is a piss poor casting glass.
Bert

Bert Weiss Art Glass*
http://www.customartglass.com
Furniture Lighting Sculpture Tableware
Architectural Commissions
rskrishnan

Post by rskrishnan »

Bert Weiss wrote:Float is a piss poor casting glass.
Well there's a resounding DON'T if I ever heard one !!

Krishnan
--
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »

rskrishnan wrote:
Bert Weiss wrote:Float is a piss poor casting glass.
Well there's a resounding DON'T if I ever heard one !!

Krishnan