Fusing dichroic glass

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Robert Cohen

Fusing dichroic glass

Post by Robert Cohen »

How do you keep pieces of dichroic glass from flowing together when they are the middle layer of a three layer fusing project?
Bridty

Post by Bridty »

Hi Robert,

I am new to this so excuse me if I say something not common practice. But as I sit here typing I am doing the exact project you are describing and have had that problem before. What I did this time was cut thin slivers of system 96 clear and set them in between peices. I am computer stupid so I unfortunatly do not know how to show the piece but i promise it turned out as well as I was hoping. I will continue to watch discussion as I hope someone with eperience has a better way because this was ALOT of work.
Tim Swann

Post by Tim Swann »

You can control the following together of the dichroic in three ways. The first if to put a glass barrier between the dichroic glass. The second is to control the glass above the Dichroic so that it is stabilized during fusing. The third is to leave a small gap between the dichroic that will allow glass from underneath to flow into. The second method takes a little work to learn, but is easy when you consider the physics of gravity.

Tim
PaulS

Re: Fusing dichroic glass

Post by PaulS »

Robert Cohen wrote:How do you keep pieces of dichroic glass from flowing together when they are the middle layer of a three layer fusing project?
I'm just trying to picture what you are describing Robert;

It's a glass sandwich, right? With the dichro pieces as the filling in a coloured base and a clear cap?

Question;

When you place the dichro pieces on the base glass, is the coating side up or down?

You have to clarify and describe it better and I'll try to help you if I can.
It ain't where you're from, it's where you're at!