Wasser metallics

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Cher

Wasser metallics

Post by Cher »

while we're thinking Wasser, anybody tried their metallics in the kiln? I think I saw that on the U Got Glass web site. Any photos?
Yo
Karen Laing

Post by Karen Laing »

At skillfest I took Jayne Persico's classes this year which I found to be fantastic.

I just finished making two bracelets with silver metallic. One I did with the silver on the top and the copper on the top with a dichro accent. The other I did with the silver on top.

On the first one the silver beneath looks amazing.
On the second one, it is interesting....looks sort of creased, which happened in the slumping on the mandrel.

I am new to the bulletin board and have never posted before, perhaps if I get enougth nerve I will take a photo tomorrow and post.
Cher

Post by Cher »

please please if i can send nerve via this bb I am doing it now, :D really would love seeing your photos!
Yo
Karen Laing

Post by Karen Laing »

Thanks Yo.

I created an album and took some photos. I am not very good at taking photos of my work and hate having pictures taken of me. The co-ordinator of our studio tour is getting a bit frustrated with that. I know I have to get over it!!!

ok here it is........................ Karen

Arcticlassglassphotos@ca.msnusers.com
starchimes (Andrea)

Post by starchimes (Andrea) »

I am not sure how this applies, but if you are incorporating fused pieces (wasser metalics) into stained glass, be careful. I fused some pieces and tried to use them in a stained glass panels. (copper foil method) When soldering the pieces, the metallic coating came right off.
daffodildeb

Post by daffodildeb »

Karen, how do I get your photos? The link didn't work.
Deb
Karen Laing

Post by Karen Laing »