Opening New Studio

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

Christyn Mattson

Opening New Studio

Post by Christyn Mattson »

Hello everyone! After attending Warm Glass Conference in DC I came home to Iowa and knew I needed to expand what I was doing. There's nothing like rubbing shoulders with other obsessive glassers!

Anyway, I am in the process of opening my first commercial studio and gallery. It will be on a very small scale and located at our local mall. I'm so excited and scared to death at the same time. I have been working fulltime in glass for 2 years out of my home studio and decided to give a true retail space a shot for the next 6 months.

Any words of wisdom or tips for success would be much appreciated! I'm opening on Wednesday and am still waiting for little details to be delivered like my cash register manual.........my sign to be made........ oh, yeah..........and my shelves, you know, to put my glass on. Whew! So much to do! I'll keep you all posted on my progress and will have pictures of the new studio soon! Thanks for all your support!

Christyn [-o<
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

Best wishes to you Christyn. I had a retail / gallery space for a year where I sold my work, the work of other local arists and taught classes along with hosting classes in lampworking, fusing, and glass related projects classes. It was a great deal of fun.