Total novice needs help!

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Stella

Total novice needs help!

Post by Stella »

Ok...I am a complete newbie at the fusing/slumping thing (have done stained glass for years). I have tons of questions, but will start with these:

1. I used the "wash" as intructed on the bottom of my new kiln, the shelf, and a mold. The kiln bottom seems fine, but the shelf seems very, well, dusty. I'm afraid the wash didn't take. How can I be sure?

2. I am using a manual circle cutter for my glass and can't seem to get a super clean cut. Any suggestions?

That's it for now. I'm hoping to fire this baby up this week (if I get the nerve).

Thanks for all you help!!
Kitty

Post by Kitty »

aloha stella - welcome aboard.
you might tell us what kind of kilnwash it is,
and the size of your shelf.

cutting circles may take some practice. see a very good tutorial on how to do this at http://www.pattygray.com

i followed her tutorial, and the Glass Cutting Gods allowed me to cut perfect circles, even as a beginner. i was astounded. it's a cool method; go check it out.
Amy on Salt Spring

Post by Amy on Salt Spring »

After your kiln wash has been prefired it should be a little dusty. That dry kiln wash is what the glass is going to sit on top of so it doesn't stick. If its really dusty maybe you put the wash on too thick?? In that case just use a cloth to dust some of it off.
Good luck!
Amy
Stella

Post by Stella »

Thank you all for your suggestions. Kitty....that site is fantastic....I cut a perfect circle!!!
Tom White

Post by Tom White »