need some help

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Karen in Chile

need some help

Post by Karen in Chile »

hi there, I've been firing glass just for one month, my results have been great and also a dissaster. Does it matter if y fire at the same time pieces of different sizes? May I fuse and slump at the same firing? Please don't laugh at my questions, or my english, :oops:
Karen
Susan Moore

Post by Susan Moore »

Karen,

I am very new to fusing as well but some basic info for you - No, you can not fuse and slump at the same time - fusing occurs at a higher temp than slumping. Firing different size pieces can be okay but may not work out well for certain projects. I would recommend that you search the archives for more information, buy a book on fusing - like Brad Walker's book available right here on this site, and try to find a beginner class to teach you the basics.

Best luck,

Susan
Karen in Chile

good tips

Post by Karen in Chile »

thanks Susan for responding that quick, I was almost turning on the kiln. Now I will reload it correctly :wink:
Karen
twinkler2

Post by twinkler2 »

Hi Karen in Chile

I'm a new fuser too :)

Susan is absolutely right
I would like to second the purchase of Brad's book :) It is worth every cent. I also think this board has been a great resource for the beginner- to- expert.

The people on the board are kind and very helpful

Have fun fusing

Me Kim
I don't get how to use the emoticons on the side yet - but I'm sending a big smile
Susan Moore

Post by Susan Moore »

Karen,