mould making for novice = 0 responses ?

Use this forum for discussion on kiln casting, pate de verre, and related topics.

Moderator: Brad Walker

camaro

mould making for novice = 0 responses ?

Post by camaro »

As of 1/6/04 I see that there have been 53 lookers yet no one has responded. I realize its a pain in the @*!!! to help newbies, but give me a break!!!!!!!
camaro

I'm learning alot from this board, most are very friendly and helpful and others are guarding their GOLD.

Thanks for nothing.
Cynthia

Post by Cynthia »

I expect that you didn't get a reply because those who know enough about casting or have relevant answers may not have read your post yet.

I read alot of posts to see what I can learn and not necesarily because I can offer an answer. So all those hits may just be from curiosity lurkers.

I have some mold making experience, but what I've done was learned in a class (too long ago for me to have any confidence that I can impart good info) or from the Boyce book you have.

Hang in there. Someone may have some tips for you. Until then you might want to search for mold making instructions outside of the glass world or give it a shot on the Craftsweb. Casting processes and mold making for glass are the same or similar as making a mold for plaster, slip casting, bronze and so on.

If I could help you I would, but the best advice I can offer is to do a little more research and wait for a reply. I don't believe that helping newbies is a pain in the ass, and I believe most here are happy to share.

You also might want to post a separate header for the different questions you have. A separate post asking for suggestions for a permanent mold mix vs. process questions might be helpful in getting some response.
Brock

Post by Brock »

First of all, nobody HAS to answer your question. Many people share their knowledge here for whatever reason, but nobody HAS to respond.