glass slumping

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Nevestcefrep

glass slumping

Post by Nevestcefrep »

I've never done glass slumping before but seems really interesting.
I'm a teacher and want to teach it to my classes.
I was wondering what basic matirials do I need to get started.
Basically, I can buy or make ceramic molds.
I have kiln wash, do I always have to use that or anything else
with it?
and what tempurature do you usually use to melt the glass..
one last question. I have pieces of glass, do they have to
be melted into a one continuous flat piece before slumping it
into a bowl or somthing? If there are great books out there, I'll
take suggestions.
Thank you for any help!!!
charlie

Post by charlie »

see the tutorial at the top of the page for a start. you could get brad's book, which is sold on this site.
Cynthia

Re: glass slumping

Post by Cynthia »

Nevestcefrep wrote:I've never done glass slumping before but seems really interesting.
I was wondering what basic matirials do I need to get started.
Basically, I can buy or make ceramic molds.
I have kiln wash, do I always have to use that or anything else
with it?
and what tempurature do you usually use to melt the glass..
one last question. I have pieces of glass, do they have to
be melted into a one continuous flat piece before slumping it
into a bowl or somthing? If there are great books out there, I'll
take suggestions.
Thank you for any help!!!
Are you a gambler, or nearly a 10? :wink: