newbie kiln wash questions

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

George Foster

newbie kiln wash questions

Post by George Foster »

I'm brand new to this, kiln is on the way. I have a couple of questions about kiln wash. Do you need to let the wash dry between coats? How do you know when a stainless steel mold is properly coated? Thanks in advance for any help and thanks for all I've already learned.
Brock

Re: newbie kiln wash questions

Post by Brock »

[quote="theface"]I'm brand new to this, kiln is on the way. I have a couple of questions about kiln wash. Do you need to let the wash dry between coats?

No. If you're doing a shelf just change the direction of application 90 degrees each coat. You shouldn't be able to see the colour of the shelf through the wet wash. I pre-fire my shelves, lots don't. I think it becomes more important the larger the surface area of your piece(s).

How do you know when a stainless steel mold is properly coated? Thanks in advance for any help and thanks for all I've already learned.

You should have an even, uniform coat on the mild. Not thick, but definitely covered. Blast, heat and spray SS molds. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Kathie Karancz

Post by Kathie Karancz »

Hey Brock: One of the things I have whined about since I started fusing, is that I hate cleaning off the kiln shelves. I'm curious - what is your process for removing the kiln wash and then reapplying. Do you sand it off, scrape it off, wet it before you scrape it, do you apply with a spray, how many coats do you apply, do reapply after every use or every 2nd use?? Just curious, cuz I hate doing it......
Kathie Karancz
Tribal Turtle
Victoria, British Columbia
http://www.tribalturtle.com
Brock

Post by Brock »