will I lose a finger?

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Vickie

will I lose a finger?

Post by Vickie »

I am waiting to get my new Tauras 3, which I have no experience using. My question is, does it cut through skin? I have given myself an unexpected manicure using my grinder, so now I wonder if I can chop my finger off if I'm not careful using the ring saw. No, really!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to get a responce from Brock!
Your friend,
Vickie
Brock

Re: will I lose a finger?

Post by Brock »

Vickie wrote:I am waiting to get my new Tauras 3, which I have no experience using. My question is, does it cut through skin? I have given myself an unexpected manicure using my grinder, so now I wonder if I can chop my finger off if I'm not careful using the ring saw. No, really!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to get a responce from Brock!
Your friend,
Vickie
I just did under Photos and Stuff. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Post by Brad Walker »

According to the manufacturer, the Taurus Ring Saw "cuts everything but fingers". It shouldn't cut you.

If you want to worry about your body parts, worry about your eyes. It's a good idea to wear eye protection when using the saw. (And unless the 3 is a lot quieter than the 2, ear protection might make sense, too.)
dee

Post by dee »

Brad Walker wrote:According to the manufacturer, the Taurus Ring Saw "cuts everything but fingers". It shouldn't cut you.

If you want to worry about your body parts, worry about your eyes. It's a good idea to wear eye protection when using the saw. (And unless the 3 is a lot quieter than the 2, ear protection might make sense, too.)